The Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize: shortlists from 2008

The prize was set up to “encourage authors from the subcontinent” in honour of Shakti Bhatt, writer and editor of Bracket Books, who passed away after a brief illness on March 31, 2007, at the age of 26. For authors, this is a very special prize — because it’s the only Indian prize for first books, because it allows fiction and non-fiction equal space, and because you can only be nominated for a first book prize once in your lifetime as a writer.

(More at The Shakti Bhatt Foundation FB Community page.)

2015 shortlist:

In alphabetical order, winner to be announced in November:

sb-fireunderash sb-mohan sb-shahid sb-vanishedsb-das-devoursb-karnad

Bharath Murthy, The Vanished Path

Indra Das, The Devourers

Saskya Jain, Fire Under Ash

Shahid Siddiqui, The Golden Pigeon

Raghu Karnad, The Farthest Field

Rohini Mohan, The Seasons of Trouble

2014 shortlist:


Winner: The Scatter Here Is Too Great by Bilal Tanweer (Random House India)

A Bad Character by Deepti Kapoor (Hamish Hamilton Penguin India)

The Vanishing Act by Prawin Adhikari (Rupa)

a cool, dark place by Supriya Dravid (Random House India)

The Competent Authority by Shovon Chowdhury (Aleph)

The Smoke Is Rising by Mahesh Rao (Random House India)

2013 shortlist:


Winner: The Wildings by Nilanjana Roy

Boats on Land by Janice Pariat

India Becoming by Akash Kapur

The King’s Harvest by Chetan Raj Shreshta

Foreign by Sonora Jha

a pleasant kind of heavy and other stories by aranyani

2012 shortlist:


Winner: Taj Mahal Foxtrot by Naresh Fernandes (Roli Books)

Tamasha in Bandargaon by Navneet Jagannathan (Tranquebar)
The Purple Line by Priyamvada Purushottam (HarperCollins)
The King in Exile by Sudha Shah (HarperCollins)
The Inexplicable Unhappiness of Ramu Hajjam by Taj Hassan (Hachette)
Calcutta Exile by Bunny Suraiya (HarperCollins)

2011 shortlist:


The Wandering Falcon, Jamil Ahmad

The Collaborator, Mirza Waheed

The Truth About Me, A Revathi

Chinaman, Shehan Karunatilaka

A Free Man, Aman Sethi

RD Burman: The Man, The Music, Anirudha Bhattacharjee & Balaji Vittal

2010 shortlist:


Winner: Following Fish, by Samanth Subramanian

Home Boy, by H M Naqvi

The House on Mall Road, by Mohyna Srinivasan

Songs of Blood and Sword, A Daughter’s Memoir, by Fatima Bhutto

The Wish Maker, by Ali Sethi

Delhi Calm, by Vishwajyoti Ghosh

2009 shortlist:


Winner: If It is Sweet, Mridula Koshy (Westland-Tranquebar)

Arzee the Dwarf, Chandrahas Choudhury (HarperCollins)

Evening is the Whole Day, Preeta Samarasan (HarperCollins)

Hotel at the End of the World, Parismita Singh (Penguin)

Eunuch Park, Palash Krishna Mehrotra (Penguin)

Baulsphere, Mimlu Sen (Random House)

Atlas of Impossible Longing, Anuradha Roy (Picador)

2008 shortlist:


Winner: A Case of Exploding Mangoes by Mohammed Hanif

In Search of a Future: The Story of Kashmir by David Devadas

Kari by Amruta Patil

A Reluctant Survivor by Sridala Swami

The Music Room by Namita Devidayal

White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

Smoke and Mirrors, An Experience of China by Pallavi Aiyar


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: