Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize, 2009 shortlist

It’s not on the website yet, but sources say this is confirmed–fiction-heavy this year:

Anuradha Roy: An Atlas of Impossible Longing
Chandrahas Choudhury: Arzee the Dwarf
Mimlu Sen: Baulsphere
Mridula Koshy: If It Is Sweet
Palash Krishna Mehrotra: Eunuch Park
Parismita Singh: Hotel at the End of the World
Preeta Samarasan: Evening is the Whole Day.

Omissions of interest:
Daniyal Mueenuddin’s In Other Rooms, Other Wonders, Basharat Peer’s Curfewed Night, Neel Mukherjee’s Past Continuous, Amit Varma’s My Friend Sancho. Unless they’ve all written first books that we don’t know about.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: